Girl Ray announce new album ‘Prestige’ and share new single ‘Hold Tight’

  • Post category:news / video
You are currently viewing Girl Ray announce new album ‘Prestige’ and share new single ‘Hold Tight’

London three-piece band Girl Ray announce their new album ‘Prestige’, which will be released later this year. The band consisting of Poppy Hankin, Sophie Moss and Iris McConnell also deliver a brand new infectious single and accompanying music video ‘Hold Tight’. The new record will also feature the previously shares singles ‘Give Me Your Love‘ and ‘Everybody’s Saying That‘.

Girl Ray keeps on delivering one banger after another and new single ‘Hold Tight’ might be one of the catchiest so far. According to the band they are exploring a more danceable sound compared to their previous albums, with a strong nod to 80s new wave disco. We are absolutely here for it and can’t wait to hear all these songs in the context of a record. About the new single they say:

“Lyrically this songs is about how appreciative I am to have found my partner, and how my mental load feels so much lighter and easier to bear now that I’m with her,” singer-guitarist Poppy Hankin says. “The production on this takes some inspiration from Haim’s incredible record ‘Women in Music Pt. III’, and features a subby drum loop inspired by Atlanta’s hip hop scene.”

‘Hold Tight’ is out now on all platforms. ‘Prestige‘ arrives August 4th via Moshi Moshi Records.